Fondation Cité de la Santé

Dr Fournier’s Testimony

Dr Fournier

This fall, we had the chance to chat with Dr Marc R. Fournier, at the heart of a very intense day at the Endoscopy Unit of the Cité-de-la-Santé Hospital. Dr Fournier is a specialist in gastroenterology. He is well positioned to observe the devastation COVID-19 is wreaking on waiting lists and the other diseases affecting our world, including gastrointestinal cancers, every day.

When it comes to detecting cancer, effective and timely screening is crucial.

The COVID-19 crisis should not make us forget the importance of early treatment to save lives. As a specialist doctor at the Cité-de-la-Santé Hospital, I can tell you that cancer does not take a break.

Since the start of the pandemic, cancer screenings and routine diagnostic procedures have been suspended or postponed. It is important that our hospital has state-of-the-art equipment to meet the growing needs of patients.

State-of-the-art equipment that could make the difference

Now more than ever, we must equip our medical teams with the best tools to provide high-level care. State-of-the-art equipment, such as the “Spyglass”, will allow improved care and shorter wait times for our community.

The Spyglass is a single-use, single-operator device that enables guided biopsies to be performed under cholangioscopic control. This device is very useful for detecting and treating cancers of the bile ducts, which are often very difficult to identify and reach.

This device would make a big difference for Laval patients. Your donation to the Cité de la Santé Foundation helps save more and more lives by detecting such cancers earlier.

Together, let’s make a difference!

Fondation Cité de la Santé

Témoignage du Dr Fournier

Dr Fournier

Cet automne, nous avons eu la chance de discuter avec Dr Marc R. Fournier, au coeur d’une journée bien intense à l’Unité d’endoscopie de l’Hôpital de la Cité-de-la-Santé. Dr Fournier est spécialiste en gastro-entérologie. Il est bien placé pour observer chaque jour les ravages que fait la COVID-19 sur les listes d’attente et les autres maladies qui affectent notre monde, notamment les cancers gastro-intestinaux.

Quand il est question de détecter un cancer, un dépistage efficace et rapide est crucial.

La crise de la COVID-19 ne doit pas nous faire oublier l’importance d’une prise en charge précoce pour sauver des vies. En tant que médecin spécialiste à l’Hôpital de la Cité-de-la-Santé, je peux vous témoigner que le cancer ne prend pas de répit.

Depuis le début de la pandémie les dépistages du cancer et les interventions diagnostiques de routine ont été suspendus ou reportés. Il est important que notre hôpital dispose d’équipement de pointe pour répondre aux besoins croissants des patients.

Des équipements de pointe qui pourraient faire la différence

Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, nous devons munir nos équipes médicales des meilleurs outils pour offrir des soins de haut niveau. Des équipements à la fine pointe de la technologie, comme le « Spyglass », permettront des soins améliorés et des temps d’attente plus courts pour notre communauté.

Le Spyglass est un appareil à usage unique mono-opérateur permettant notamment la réalisation de biopsies guidées sous contrôle cholangioscopique. Cet appareil est très utile pour détecter et traiter les cancers des voies biliaires, qui souvent sont très difficiles à cerner et à atteindre.

Cet appareil ferait une grande différence pour les patients lavallois. Votre don à la Fondation Cité de la Santé permet de sauver toujours plus de vies en détectant de tels cancers plus tôt.

Ensemble, faisons une différence!